Every NZ AI receptionist price, grouped by who sets it up
Each row is from the provider's own pricing page, checked on 5 October 2026 and linked. Prices are entry plans in NZ dollars, as each provider publishes them.
| Provider | Entry price | Included | Setup | Trial and contract |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Set up for you, included in the priceSpecialists build the voice, script and calendar connection and test it with you. No setup fee. | ||||
| FirstVoice AINZ businesses that want it built and managed for them | $297 a month (Starter), no GST added | 200 / 600 / 1,500 minutes | Done for you, included. Script updates every month | Free 2 weeks on your real calls, set up for you, no cardMonth to month |
| AppAITrades and service businesses | $350 a month (Standard), + GSTStandard texts you summaries; bookings and live transfers are on Concierge, $750 + GST. | No minute cap (talks to you above about 1,500) | Done for you, included | None (money-back guarantee)Month to month |
| Set up for you, for a one-off feeSetup is done for you if you pay for it, from $199 to $499 where published, sometimes with a contract. | ||||
| Bizzy BossTrades | $147 a month plus about 25c a minute, + GSTLabelled introductory pricing ending 30 September, still shown on 5 October. | Billed by usage | $250 one-off (what it covers isn't published) | Not publishedNo contracts |
| HellodeskTrades, clinics, car dealers | $149 a month (Solo), + GST | 200 minutes | Done for you, $299 to $499 one-off | Not publishedNo lock-in |
| TalkifyGeneral business | $129 a month for 3 months, then $199 (Broadcast), GST not statedIts pricing page says "+ GST" only next to the annual price. | 200 minutes | Custom Setup from $499, on a 12-month contract. Otherwise you build it yourself | $10 free credit on pay as you goNo lock-in without Custom Setup; 12 months with it |
| TradieCallTrades | $129 a month (Starter), incl. GST | 100 minutes | Optional done-for-you setup, $199 one-off | 7 days, card requiredNo lock-in |
| You set it up yourselfYou write the script, connect your calendar and test it in their app, or no setup service is published. | ||||
| AnswRGeneral business | $99 a month (Starter), GST not stated | 200 minutes | You configure it, with guidance from their team | 7 daysCancel any time |
| H3lloTrades and clinics, Kapiti and Wellington | $75 a month (AI 60, message taking), + GSTIts marketing says agents start from $300 a month (AI 200). | 60 minutes | Not published | Not publishedNo long-term contracts |
| Hey JodieGeneral small business | $99 a month (Basic), + GST | Unlimited minutes | No setup fee | 7 days, no cardMonth to month |
| KiwiAgentGeneral business | $49 a month (Starter), + GST | 100 minutes (free plan: 30) | No setup fee | Free plan, 30 minutes a monthMonth to month |
| KiwiCallsTrades (builders at the moment) | $69 a month (Starter), GST not stated | Up to 150 minutes | No setup fee | Not publishedNo lock-in |
| LazyMagnetTrades and clinics | $297 a month (AI Receptionist on its own), + GSTMainly a text, chat and ads system; the receptionist is $200 when added to its $697 AI Complete plan. | Not stated | Not published for the receptionist on its own | Not publishedNo lock-in |
| RecepfloTrades, clinics, service businesses | $79 a month (Starter), + GSTAlso answers web chat, WhatsApp and Messenger. | 120 voice minutes | No setup fee. Onboarding support on its $399 Business plan | 14 days, no cardNo lock-in |
| Waboom AIGeneral business, outbound calling | $130 a month plus 95c a minute, + GSTFirst payment is $630: the $130 platform fee plus $500 of call credit that tops itself up. | Pay per minute from $500 prepaid credit | Not published | Not publishedMonth to month |
Not included: Lyngo, which publishes prices in Australian dollars only, and CallAngel, which doesn't publish prices on its NZ site. Human answering services are compared on AI receptionist vs answering service.
Why the cheapest plan isn't the whole price
A self-serve plan's monthly fee buys the software. The work is yours: writing the call script, connecting your calendar, testing it with real calls, and fixing it every time a caller asks something it wasn't set up for. 8 of the 14 providers here work this way. If your time is worth more than that, the comparison that matters is between the providers who do it for you.
- Setup. Done for you is either a one-off fee, from $199 to $499 where published, or included. Talkify's Custom Setup also comes with a 12-month contract.
- Ongoing changes. Your business changes: prices, hours, services, staff. Ask who updates the script and what it costs. FirstVoice includes script updates on every plan.
- Trying it first. Self-serve trials test the software, not the result, because you have to build it before you can judge it. FirstVoice AI builds it for you, then lets you trial it free for 2 weeks on your real calls.
- Minutes and GST. Most plans include a set number of minutes and charge per minute after that, and most add 15% GST on top. FirstVoice adds no GST.
- Introductory rates. Some prices rise after the first months. Talkify's $129 becomes $199 after 3 months, and Bizzy Boss labels its price as introductory.
How to compare quotes fairly
- Work out your minutes: calls a month times your average call length (most calls run 2 to 4 minutes).
- Ask for the monthly price including GST once any introductory rate ends.
- Add any setup fee, and check whether paid setup comes with a contract.
- Check what the entry plan actually does: messages only, or real bookings and transfers.
- Ask who fixes it when a caller asks something it wasn't set up for, and what that costs.
- Count your own hours if you're building it yourself. Our Talkify comparison has a calculator for exactly that.
- Test it on real calls before you commit. Our guide to testing an AI receptionist has 14 test calls to try.
What FirstVoice includes
Every FirstVoice plan is done for you: we build the voice, script and calendar connection, test it with you, update the script every month, and you deal directly with the founder. Plans are $297, $597 and $997 a month for 200, 600 and 1,500 minutes, month to month, with no GST added, and you can try it free for 2 weeks on your real calls first. See pricing, or work out what any AI receptionist costs against a staff member with the AI receptionist cost calculator.
Sources
Every provider's own pricing page, checked 5 October 2026:
- AppAI: appai.nz
- Bizzy Boss: bizzyboss.co.nz/pricing
- Hellodesk: hellodesk.co.nz/pricing
- Talkify: talkify.nz/pricing
- TradieCall: tradiecall.co.nz/pricing
- AnswR: answr.co.nz
- H3llo: h3llo.nz/AIAgents
- Hey Jodie: heyjodie.com/en-nz/pricing/
- KiwiAgent: kiwiagent.ai/pricing
- KiwiCalls: kiwicalls.co.nz
- LazyMagnet: lazymagnet.com/pricing
- Recepflo: recepflo.ai/pricing
- Waboom AI: waboom.ai/ai-voice-agents/ai-receptionist